Thursday Lunchtime Concerts, Young Artists’ Series
Huw Wiggin
soprano sax
Ellie McMurray
alto sax
Jose Bañuls
tenor sax
Shevaughan Beere
baritone sax
Bach arr. Ferio Saxophone Quartet
Prelude and Fugue in G minor BWV535
Holberg Suite
Stabat Mater
Italian Concerto BWV971

This programme contains many celebrated works transcribed for saxophone quartet.

The Ferio Saxophone Quartet enjoy commissioning new composers and playing original works, but in this unique concert they are solely playing transcriptions of repertoire that wasn’t originally written for the saxophone.

The saxophone was only patented in 1846 so many composers didn’t have the opportunity to write for it. One of the aims of the Ferio Saxophone Quartet is to show the versatility of the saxophone and in this unique concert Ferio will play familiar works as they have never been heard before. Prelude and Fugue in G minor was originally written for Organ and composed sometime before Bach took the job of organist in Weimar.

The Italian Concerto was originally written for Harpsichord, and as Bach said himself, “Intended for lovers of music, for their enjoyment”. The programme is completed with Grieg’s Holberg Suite, originally for piano but a year later adapted for string orchestra by Grieg himself. The work really exemplifies nineteenth century music which makes use of musical styles and forms from the preceding century.